Saturday, January 30, 2010

Egypt never gets boring!

So I met hossam habib. its all i talk about even though its not big deal here. stars just walk around and like go clubbing with u like its nothing!! so not like america.
So the past two days ive gone to arabesque again with Sally and a friend, and then i slept over her house, and today we went shopping anddd to a restaurant where i had really good salmon stuffed raviolis. im surprised my stomach isnt getting screwed up cuz it usually does in egypt..i prob just jinxed myself.. o well. then i went with my friend youssef to mohandesine and i met up with Hesham and Mimi. I GOT TO SEE THEM SALSA! it was super cool and i took a video of them. it was for a class theyre taking- theyre rele good!! and then we went to 3al ahwa and it was fun stuff everyone was therree and it was all good times

everyone is egypt is really nice! im still adjusting to norms and all that stuff...but hopefully ill catch on really quick.

tomorrow is the soccer game with egypt against...some other african country! i think its at 9:30 for everyone in america! watch itt
ill update tomorrow about class!
<3
MAASALAMA
nadia

Thursday, January 28, 2010

WE WON! :D






Today I woke up at 4:30pm as i had intended, and then went out at 8:30 to watch the game. I wasn't going to go out cuz i heard it was dangerous but I ended up going close by cuz Zamalak was rele crowded and dangerous for girls i think. So I went to a place called Shader with Mustafa and it was really cool. Egypt won 4-0 against Algeria. That video is the video of everyone in the cafe when we won. It was so much fun!

Thats pretty much everything i did today haha. i slept for most of the day. tomorrow inshallah im hanging with Sally and then Farah at night
till then
gooo masr :D

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

getting adjusted








Hellooo,
Apparently I've had a lot of people actually reading this, so I'm gonna continue to update it every day, or at least try to. Before I forget it, the word i was talking about was atomayamate. Atomaya is a city in egypt where my friend is from and i was telling him how i have no roommate yet and hes nice so he was like ok ill be your atomaya mate (i prob spelled that so wrong) but anyways khaled if you're reading this...best made up word ever its fun to say haha.

So today i actually woke up on time around 10:00AM, and I went to walk around the campus. I got a lot accomplished actually. I got my ID card made and activated, I made my email and activated it, I schedule for my classes, met with an arabic professor to see which arabic i should be in (he placed me in 110 instead of 109 and i hope i dont fail it!), and i figured out the bus schedule. And I saw Farah briefly in the morningg...and then Hesham and Mimi came and we ate and hung out. I signed up for some campus activities...theres this one thing i signed up for where i pair up with a person who is a native of egypt to practice my arabic-it would be such a great help. and I also signed up for something where the english speaking students teach the faculty basic phrases and words in english so they can get by better. both are such great ideas!
I also have to mention that the AUC is like a maze. Everything is hard to find and you have to go on a scavenger hunt to find it. Every once in a while i would ask for directions and I would get the general location..not exact..so i eventually found my way to those places. BUT, when its time to go back to them i definitely wont remember how. The first day of classes which start sunday is going to be a huge challenge.

Later on i went with Mimi and Hesham to her house and we rest and talked because we were so tired from the rough morning...and then we went to go eat at Didos, this italian restaurant- I got speghetti :D And thennn Mimi and Hesham and I went back to Mimi's to watch Friends. I got stuck in her bathroom...that was pretty funny hahahaha :}

So while ive been here so far I've noted things that i was like Only in Egypt def:
1. Hesham pushed a car parked in front of Mimi's car so we could get out ( i have a picture)
2. We saw a movie that translated to "sensations" in English hahaha. It was the dirtiest movie ive ever seen in Egypt, and at the end we found out one of the actresses was sitting in the movie theater with us the whole time, and everyone acted like it was normal!
3.Everything that comes to Egypt broken gets fixed. For example, my face clears up, my hair gets healthy, and my microphone on my computer which hasnt worked any time ive ever tried to use it, suddenly worked. Its amazing...but its Egypt

ill add more soon

so the pictures: a few are of my dorm (dont mind the tampon box), one is with me and someone i met that I call Friday- when i was out with Farah and one is of hesham pushing the car infront of us(something ud appreciate gina) and one is of me smoking sheesha outside in a cafe...notice the heavy clothes- ITS COLD! and i took a picture of a traffic light in egypt..it seems weird to do but trust me..thats not something normal! and people actually stopped at it! Egypt is improving :]

Tomorrow is the big soccer match against Algeria in the African cup- its gonna be like a big deal and if we win Hesham thinks its prob gonna get super crowded...lets see what happens. GO MASR <3

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

viva la egypt :D

helloo everyone! im finally here- its my second day in egypt and im already loving it. so far i hung out with ahmad and hatem, and today i hung out with hesham tarek mimi mj and farah. it was such an amazing two days, altho i miss sami like no other. and of course i miss my mom and sister and cat, but either way this is such an great experience for me. tomorrow i have to wake up and schedule for my classes because i slept through that part today. (i woke up at 3:30pm egypt time; jetlag sucks!!) I dont know if im going to have a roomate because i was supposed to have one named marina and i just met a marina in the bathroom and she said she lives across the hall. shes super fobby...so i might be solo in this double room..which i dont mind i guess although it might get a little lonely. its ok though i like having my alone time sometimes, and itll be good when i need to study...maybe.

i went to arabesque today with farah and it was such a great time. i made a lot of friends. one guy named khaled drove me home and we decided hes going to be my ...something mate. it was like the name of the city but i forgot it. ill have to get back to you on that one. we said we're gonna hang out all the time since i live so close...i rele need to get my stuff in order though.

i hope it gets warmer soon...its been like 55-60 degrees which i know everyone in america would prob say is nice but for egypt it is still relatively cold!! what sucks the most is that to get to my bathroom you have to walk outside, and its FREEZING especially after walking out of my nice heated room. it makes me not want to go hahaha.its going to be hard to be responsible here..its so easy to get wrapped up in the fun stuff :] i promise though starting tomorrow im really going to get myself organized with school and my room(cuz its a serious mess right now).

Lets see if i can get around tomorrow..hopefully hesham and mimi will help me find out what to do. My Arabic speaking status: Less than average. I have high standards from myself and right now its def below satisfactory. ALTHO khaled taught me how to say minutes seconds hours....sawaya is seconds..i can say that when someones like NADIA and ill be like sawayyaaa...like hold on!..da'aya is minutes...hour is sa'aa...he taught me how to say tunnel but i forgot...hopefully ill get better

for now im gonna continue talking to sami on aim and hopefully go to sleep soon (its 3:25am) I'll put my pics up very soon isA
<3 miss everyone
nitey

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Getting Ready

Hellooo,
I am leaving in only 4 days and I am starting to get super nervous. I'm not gonna post this blog until I arrive in Egypt isA because I am very superstitious. Right now I'm just packing and trying to imagine my life in a different country for four months, the longest I will have ever been away from home. I'll miss it but hopefully this will be one of the best, most experiential time of my life.